St. Mary's school like all BCE schools comes under the curriculum direction of the State Government in eight essential areas of teaching and learning. These are:

  • Religious Education
  • The Arts
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Study of Society and Environment, and Technology

The Government syllabus is the primary information for each of these Key Learning Areas. St.Mary's builds its own curriculum around these KLAs, but remains flexible in developing its learning framework in response to local and diverse needs and, where necessary for special needs. Our school learning program reflects the values of its community and incorporates the Lifelong Learning.

Because Brisbane Catholic Education recognises that physical education plays a vital role in student development and that every child is entitled to an education which includes a well structured and implemented physical education program, St. Mary's school incorporates games, skill development and outdoor experiences into this curriculum area. Appropriate lessons for Health and Safety support the P.E. program.

The school also creates a program of extra-curricula activities.