School History

St Mary’s is a co-educational Catholic primary school established in 1912 by the Sisters of Mercy, and administered by the Sisters of Mercy until 1988 when the first lay Principal was appointed. The school is situated in a rural setting within the Lockyer Valley with enrolments mirroring the Shire’s growth. The school currently has an enrolment of approximately 320 students, from Prep to Year 6.

At St Mary’s there is a strong sense of community, which has been forged over many years. Our staff work closely to ensure our beliefs and values are developed throughout the school.

The school has recently undergone refurbishments and is fully air-conditioned. It has a large grassed area as well as a multi-purpose court and large award winning architecturally designed covered area.

St Mary’s truly is the hidden gem of the Lockyer offering a warm, supportive country atmosphere where families, school and parish work together in partnership. Through the shared knowledge and values held by those at the school, St Mary’s provides quality teaching and learning based on God’s teaching of love. The school provides an outcomes based faith filled educational program encompassing a lifelong learning focus. St Mary’s school also covers a wide variety of curriculum activities such as Music, Dance, ICLT and Health and Physical Education. The St Mary’s curriculum is supported by a consistent approach to behaviour management.

As a Christian School in the Catholic tradition all students experience Religious Education lessons and come together to celebrate as a faith-filled community in partnership with parish and parents in various events.

Ours is a continuing story and by choosing to be part of the St Mary’s community, children, staff, parents and friends become part of our story. As we enter the 100th year in our history, our story will continue as ‘Together We Grow In Love’.